Car accidents are one of the most common types of personal injury claims in Minnesota. If you’ve gotten in an accident recently, you’re not alone. And it’s not just Minnesota: every year, tens of millions of people around the world are hurt by cars, trucks and other vehicles. Depending on where you live, you may experience. If you’ve been injured in a car accident, you’ll want to know your rights and how to get help with expenses. An attorney is an excellent way to enforce your rights and get the best resolution possible.
Minnesota Car Accident Laws
Minnesota is a state that uses “no-fault” car insurance rules, which are a part of the insurance that all drivers in the state must have to legally be on the road. Because of these laws, more than one person is often compensated for an accident.
How does no-fault car insurance work? It covers the driver even if they are at fault for the accident. This makes sure that there are funds that can cover your injuries even if you’re at fault for the accident. When a car accident results in injuries, you can file a claim with your own car insurance coverage. The claim will compensate for injuries, time off from work, and other healthcare expenses, but only up to a certain point.
What Expenses Are Not Covered by No-Fault Insurance?
No-fault insurance coverage doesn’t cover every expense. For example, it won’t pay for repair or replacement of damaged or destroyed vehicles or other personal property. Compensation for vehicular damages is best sought through a lawsuit.
Insurance companies also have a limit to what expenses they will cover. Once you hit this ceiling, you may lawyer may want to file a lawsuit against the at-fault driver.
When is it Appropriate to File a Lawsuit for Medical Expenses?
When expenses greater than $4000. Lawsuits are only appropriate in Minnesota if your expenses must equal $4,000 or more. Usual, customary and reasonable pricing is usually compensated, but if the service costs are higher than their normal value. Boutique services rarely receive compensation by the Minnesota courts. For example, a private, upscale hospital may overcharge for treatment for even the most basic items such as ibuprofen. Usual, customary and reasonable charges are a legal term that describes what would be the median or average for services in hospitals.
You suffer 60 days of disability or permanent injury. Or, you are permanently disfigured or disabled. Many people who have a car accident injury end up with health problems that take long-term recovery, such as extensive physical therapy. Loss of limbs or limited mobility can profoundly affect your quality of life. It’s important that you speak with an attorney as soon as possible, even if you haven’t recovered completely from your injuries.
Planning on Filing a Car Accident Lawsuit?
It’s hard to decide to file a lawsuit, but you deserve compensation for the impact the accident has made on your life. One thing that helps tremendously is record-keeping and document gathering. If you miss time from work, make sure to document the days off and the loss of income. Try to save all receipts, medical records, and police reports in one place so you can easily hand them to your lawyer.
If you have missed time from work, make sure that you’ve written the hours you missed and keep a log.
Are You Able to Legally File a Lawsuit?
If you were seriously injured or hospitalized, your claim is probably greater than the $4000 covered by no-fault insurance policies, and you will need to take your case to court to recover damages. If you are claiming a loss of your car or another vehicle, a lawsuit is a way to recoup the costs.
A lawyer can also help you decide if your claim is exempt from no-fault insurance rules.
Your lawsuit will need to prove your losses, as well as any other expenses, losses or ongoing needs you seek reimbursement for. A competent attorney can help you document expenses caused by the car accident, and work to help you put a dollar value on your ongoing needs.
Does Minnesota Have a Statute of Limitations?
Minnesota Statutes Sections 541.05 and 541.07 address a state of limitations. If you plan on filing a lawsuit in court, you only have two years starting from the date of the car accident to file a lawsuit. The lawsuit must only be for injuries or property damage stemming from the car accident.
Even if you’re recovering from a loss of limb or another life-changing injury, you must file within this deadline.
you may only have 2 years to file a claim, although you may have as long as 6 years from the date of the accident…
Starting the Process
If you’re suffering from injuries that occurred during a car accident, it’s important to contact an attorney as soon as you can. A good attorney can help you document your injuries and put dollar amounts on the cost of your recovery or rehabilitation, even if you aren’t quite well yet.
You’ll want an attorney that can help you also account for permanent changes in your life, such as disabilities that require accommodations. If a car accident impacts your quality of life, you deserve to have help with your recovery and a safety net in place.
Need to find out more information on getting compensation for a car accident? Our law firm has expertise in these cases and will fight to get you the help you need to move forward. Please feel free contact us to find out more about your rights and how we can work towards the best resolution possible.